Hoopfulbride's Blog

Planning a wedding in a place called The Hope

Minor melt-down 5 August 2009

Filed under: fabulous friends,meltdown,Scissor — hoopfulbride @ 4:37 pm

I felt overwhelmed last night.

After trying to co-ordinate our next (and final prior to the wedding) weekend to De Hoop and finding out the weekend we’d arranged doesn’t suit our v. nb friends (the sweets have agreed to work around us and make a plan), I realised I’d been a bit of a clutz on another level.

As some of you may have picked up, I am less than enamoured with my job and have been trying to figure out the “next step”. The first major step I’d taken in this regard has been signing up for a course in mediation and alternate dispute resolution which I was really really excited about! And I was convinced (in my head) that it ran from 12-16 August.

So I gaily told my lovely scissor and best matey that the following weekend (21-23 August) was free. In turn, they have been scheming up a storm in the manner of organising a “hen’s weekend” (According to Scissor: Under ABSOLUTELY no circumstances may you make any plans on that weekend!!!)

Except I was wrong and had my weekends mixed up. So, to my horror, I realised I had a very significantly double-booked weekend. And as the realisation hit me, I just couldn’t deal with it and I sat on my bed and wept and wept.

Despite calling the Scissor in tears and gasping into the phone that she might have to undo all her hard work, I’ve subsequently come to terms with the dilemma. I have (begrudgingly) realised that I probably can’t afford to take myself out of office for three days in August as I have a big matter that is being heard on 3 Sept… and the harder I work on it the more I get paid (VVVVVVVVVVV NB) so being in my office means I can probably make money instead of spending it (on afore-mentioned course). And I can probably do the course next time they run it (prob in 6 months)… So all is ok despite the sobs I issued forth yesterday evening.

But it nevertheless is a small reminder of how much there is to deal with and how overwhelming it all can be.

Sigh. Minor melt-down behind me…

 

One Response to “Minor melt-down”

  1. donna Says:

    I can empathize! I had 3 emotional breakdowns within the first two weeks of getting engaged…and luckily have not had any since. But we’re all allowed a breakdown here and there. Glad you got it all sorted. Chin up! 🙂


Leave a Reply

